My heroine

I am at a loss because no one in particular, who is living, comes to mind.  I can only think of one… June Callwood was a Canadian journalist, author and social activist. According to the Toronto Star article on April 15, 2007 “June Callwood, a unique and unlikely blend of writer and activist, saint and rebel, visionary and go-to pragmatist, died yesterday. She was 82.”

She had accomplished so much in her life time…a champion of the underdog and underserved, but always in the forefront. Sandra Martin wrote in the Globe and Mail, “She helped establish 50 organizations – that’s more than most people join in their lifetimes. The institutions range across the arts, human rights, civil liberties and social welfare.”

She was asked to help our charity.  I was lucky to get to know her. As busy and famous as she was, she always responded to every letter I wrote her.  I remembered so well that she took time to give me a tour of Casey House Hospice.

She told the Star, “The only tragedy that death represents is a life not lived. I don’t have much to regret. There’s not much I haven’t been able to do.”  I hope that I am able to do as much as I can in my retirement.

If I am able to ask her a question, it would be…what drives you to do so many great things while remaining as humble as you are.

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6

Leave a Reply

